Background

So, I have never ever ever created a blog entry before and I am still not even sure if I have done this correctly!  But here it goes…

I graduated high school in 2000.  I knew that I was going to go into Technology for my career, but I didn’t know where at(hardware, software, development, maintenance, etc).  I was 17!!  I had no clue!!  I went to community college for a bit, and did not enjoy the classes.  They essentially had VERY dated equipment, and I ended up teaching my instructor more than he taught me!  I turned 18, and still did not know what I wanted to do.

While contemplating what I wanted to do, several of my friends went into the military upon graduation(they were old enough, I was the baby!).  I decided I wanted to serve my country and possibly find a career inside of the USMC(United States Marine Corps).  If there is one thing I can tell you about the military…if you do not know what you want to do when you enter….they FIND something for you to do!!  After getting through basic training, I wanted to go for “Force Reconnaissance”.  I got to jump out of airplanes, amphibious assaults, fast rope(rappelling from a helicopter), and so many other things.  By the time I left the Marine Corps, I was a Corporal.  I had several combat tours, but was permanently stationed in Okinawa, Japan.  I was medically discharged after receiving multiple wounds during combat.  I received a Purple Heart with one leaf.  I wish I could of continued to serve, however, I still attend as many benefits as I can for my brothers and sisters in arms.  If we ever meet in person at a SQL Event, or just in passing, and you want to talk about the Marine Corps, I am always willing to talk about my experience.  It formed my foundation for who I am today!!

Fast forward 5 years…I was working at a crappy job for a Data Center/ISP company.  I was performing rack installations/hardware setups/cabling for a very very very low sum of money(seriously. it was bad).  My best friend had been working for my current company for several years and took my resume without me knowing and got me an interview.  I was hired on the spot for Technical Support.  The money was almost double my salary doing the installations, and it did not require travel!  I went through the training and began falling in love with this company.  They have done so much in the HealthCare field, and you probably never even heard their name, TeleTracking Technologies.

I cannot say enough about TeleTracking.  The work we do every day here truly changes the world of health care.  From decreasing the time it takes to be admitted, to increasing the standards of care at hospitals, I cannot think of another company that I would want to work for.

I have been involved in numerous huge projects for TeleTracking.  The biggest so far was our Royal WolverHampton Trust project.  This project was based out of WolverHampton, UK.  Read this article(http://www.royalwolverhamptonhospitals.nhs.uk/news/hand_hygiene_sensor_technology.aspx) for an overview of the project, and I love speaking about it, so please ask me anything you want to know about it.  This is just one of the MANY projects that TeleTracking has changed the world of HealthCare with.

I am now a Solutions Engineer for the Support Services department at TeleTracking.  I am just a glorified DBA.  And by DBA I mean, Does ‘Bout Anything.  I do DBA related work, development work, process improvements, process design, SCRUM meetings, I do it all folks!

Feel free to contact me anytime!

Leave a Reply

