Summit 2015

I was finally able to attend Summit this year.  The experience I had there will forever be in my mind as…AWESOME!  I had such a great time going to the sessions that I attended.  There were so many that I attended and I cannot even begin to list them all.  A few that stuck out the best were Jes Borland’s “Minimize Data Loss with Advanced Restore Methods”.  Lots of things to take away from that session that I can apply.  It had been a while since I had to restore any clients databases, but it was always good to see other ways to perform the task.

Here is a shot with me and Jes!  She is such an awesome person.  She was always willing to answer questions, grab some coffee, or in short, be awesome!

CShSixAUcAAwxRM

I got to attend the Speaker Idol in support of my local PASS user group’s session.  Bill Wolf aka @SQLWarewolf was doing his presentation on SARG-ability.  Bill was the first speaker I had ever seen for a SQL presentation.  He made his presentation so much fun to watch, that I try to catch him speak anytime he does around the local area!  He always ends up teaching me something new, even if the session is something that I have watched before.  In support of his entry into Speaker Idol, several of us wore “Wolf Pack” T-shirts that somebody made specifically for this event.  I thought he did very well with his presentation, as well as all of the other presenters.  Here is a photo of all of us after his presentation:

CShqRWiU8AAlpvp

I got to sit in the Community Zone alot and speak to potential future speakers for my Virtual Chapter, In Memory(http://imvc.sqlpass.org/).  I got to meet ALOT of Microsoft MVP’s as well during my time there.  I was so blown away by how friendly these guys are.  The folks that I see speak at these events are much like Rock Stars to me, and to be able to approach them and speak with them and not have to pay an extra fee, was something that really made me understand what PASS is truly about, #SQLFamily.

So when I left to go to Summit, my suitcase weighed 49 pounds.  When I weighed my bag at the Delta check-in on my way home, it weighed 78 pounds!!  That is 29 pounds of swag I got to bring home!  I got a ton of books from the RedGate folks, lots of gift cards from the HP folks, and TONS of tshirts!!

I cannot wait to go to Summit 2016…I am already speaking to my boss about the approval to go.  I told him all of the stuff that I was learning, and that I couldn’t wait to apply it to my current workload.  The cost of Summit was easily reimbursed with the amount of knowledge I have gained and will apply to my clients.

Leave a Reply

